Dropbox shared folders are a beautiful thing. They let you invite people to collaborate, giving everyone the ability to add, edit, or view files in the same folder. And if you create the shared folder, you’re the owner — but there may come times when you no longer need to be. So what do you do?
All you have to do is change the owner of the shared folder. This is a great way to clean up your Dropbox if you’re no longer involved a certain project, if you change roles, or if you just want to pass the responsibility of folder ownership to someone else on your team. Once you do that, only the new owner will have the power to change who can be invited, who can manage membership, and whether links can be shared with people outside the folders. And after you transfer ownership, you’ll be free to remove the folder from your Dropbox, which will help you keep things organized and get rid of any alerts you may have been receiving.
Transferring ownership of a shared folder just takes a few clicks; see how to do it in this Help Center article. And remember, as a Dropbox for Business user, you have other shared folder options available to you, like view-only permissions.