Tip of the week: How to remove shared links

How to remove Dropbox shared links

When you need to send a file — especially a large video or graphics file — and you’re short on time, shared links are an easy way to send something quickly. (You can even share a link with someone if they don’t have a Dropbox account.) But did you know that it’s just as easy to remove a shared link as it is to create one?

There are a few instances when you might want to do this. For example, let’s say you regularly work with freelancers and someone leaves a project midway through. Or, you’re contracting with a new supplier and decide things aren’t working out a few weeks later. If you’ve shared links to any files or folders with company information (such as business plans or design assets), it’s a good idea to disable those links to make sure anyone who’s left your project no longer has access to your content.

So how do you remove a shared link? If you’re the creator of the link, all you have to do is sign in to the Dropbox website, click on Links from the sidebar, and click on the “x” next to your chosen file or folder. Remember, once you remove a link you won’t be able re-enable it. You can, however, always create a new link to share your file or folder again.

While you’re on the Links page, you can see all the links you’ve created at a glance — so you can easily keep track of what you’ve shared.

Want to learn more about managing shared links? Check out our Dropbox for Business User Guide.