Thank you for using Carousel

Update (December 8, 2015): We’ve added French, German, and Japanese translations of this post below.

When we introduced Carousel in April 2014, we believed a standalone app would be a better way to experience photos. We’re proud to have created a photo app that many of you use and love. However, over the past year and a half, we’ve learned the vast majority of our users prefer the convenience and simplicity of interacting with their photos directly inside of Dropbox. With this in mind, we’ve had to make a difficult decision.

On March 31st, we’re shutting down Carousel as a standalone app and returning to a single Dropbox photo experience. Carousel has always been a way to view and interact with photos stored in Dropbox. All the photos in your Carousel timeline will remain safe in your Dropbox where they’ve always been. If you have photos you received through conversations or shared albums that you want to save, check out the instructions in our Help Center.

After Carousel shuts down you’ll still be able to view and share your photos in the Photos tab views on the web and in your Dropbox mobile apps. In the coming months, we’ll integrate some key features of Carousel into the core Dropbox app. For more details, check out our Help Center.

Thank you for using Carousel, and for all the love and feedback along the way. And more than that, thank you for letting us be part of the memories and moments you share with one another.

Read more